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UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

IN AND FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

In re TSUYAKO McCONNEY, ) Chapter 7 Proceedings
) Case No. 05-24014-PHX-CGC
)
) UNDER ADVISEMENT DECISION
) RE: TRUSTEE’S OBJECTION TO

Debtors. ) CLAIMED EXEMPTION
____________________________________)

Trustee David Reaves (“Trustee”) objects to Debtor Tsuyako McConney (“Debtor”)

claiming a homestead exemption in $65,000 held in her Bank of America account.  Debtor

claims the funds exempt pursuant to Arizona’s homestead statute, Arizona Revised Statute

(“A.R.S.”) section 33-1101. However, Debtor also claims a homestead exemption in a home

in which she is currently living.  The Trustee argues that she cannot claim a homestead

exemption in both.

Debtor responded pro se to the Trustee’s objection by letter dated February 3, 2006. 

According to Debtor, she owned a condominium unit in Mesa (“Unit 57") prior to filing

bankruptcy.  She lived in Unit 57 and considered it her homestead.  In addition, she co-owned

another unit in the same complex (“Unit 56").  In August, 2005, prior to filing bankruptcy,

she sold Unit 57, netting approximately $125,000.  She then used $60,000 of the $125,000 she

netted to buyout the co-owner of Unit 56, pay down the existing financing and refurbish the

unit.  She then moved into Unit 56.  She claims a homestead exemption in Unit 56 and in the

remaining $65,000 in proceeds from the sale of Unit 57.

The matter came before the Court on March 8, 2006, at which time Debtor appeared

through attorney Rory Lee Whipple.  The Court granted the parties additional time to fully

brief the exemption issue. After several extensions of time, the briefs have been filed and the

matter is ripe for resolution.

The issue is straightforward.  Can Debtor claim a homestead exemption in her new

home and the remaining, unspent proceeds from the sale of her old home.  The Trustee argues
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no, and the Court agrees.  Debtor’s argument is that A.R.S. section 33-1101 allows the

proceeds from the sale of a homestead to remain exempt for up to 18 months, regardless of

whether a new homestead has been purchased and a homestead exemption claimed on that new

home.  She argues that she should have up to 18 months to spend those funds for the

improvement of her homestead.  This, Debtor explains, furthers the policy behind the

homestead exemption provision and the oft-cited principle that the exemptions should be

broadly interpreted in the debtor’s favor.

The statute is clear, however: 

A.      Any person the age of eighteen or over, married or single, who resides within
the state may hold as a homestead exempt from attachment, execution and forced sale,
not exceeding one hundred fifty thousand dollars in value, any one of the following:

1.    The person's interest in real property in one compact body upon which exists a
                 dwelling house in which the person resides.

2.    The person's interest in one condominium or cooperative in which the person
                resides.

3.    A mobile home in which the person resides.

4.    A mobile home in which the person resides plus the land upon which that mobile
                home is located.

                                      *                                       *                               *

C. The homestead exemption, not exceeding the value provided for in subsection A,
automatically attaches to the person's interest in identifiable cash proceeds from the
voluntary or involuntary sale of the property. The homestead exemption in identifiable
cash proceeds continues for eighteen months after the date of the sale of the property or
until the person establishes a new homestead with the proceeds, whichever period is
shorter. Only one homestead exemption at a time may be held by a person under this
section.

Subsection A starts off clearly indicating that a person can only claim one exemption under the

homestead statute.  Subsection C goes further and indicates that once a homestead is sold, the

proceeds from its sale remain exempt for 18 months or until a new homestead is established,

whichever period is shorter. Further, the statute clearly states that only one homestead

exemption can be claimed at a time.  Such a reading of the statute satisfies the purpose behind

the homestead statute – protecting one from the forced sale of the family home.   Debtor’s
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home is still protected by her homestead exemption.   Here, she used a portion of the original

homestead proceeds to improve the new homestead.  Whether those proceeds were exempt at

the time is not determinable; once they were used to improve the new homestead, the resulting

equity became subject to the exemption.  However, once the new homestead was established,

any claim of exemption to the remaining $65,000 evaporated.

While the Court is sympathetic to Debtor’s plight, nothing in the statute allows for such

an exception from its precise language

For the foregoing reasons, the Trustee’s objection to exemptions is sustained.

So ordered. 

DATED:      May 15, 2006

CHARLES G. CASE II
UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY JUDGE

NOTICE PROVIDED BY THE BNC


